Home > About Us > Governance


  • International Scientific Advisory Committee

    This Committee is responsible for advising the Governing Board on strategic and scientific matters, and meets every 2 years.

    The ISAC is presently composed of the following distinguished scientists:

    • Professor Alash'le Abimiku, Institute of Human Virology, Nigeria & University of Maryland School of Medicine, USA
    • Sir Thomas "Tom" Blundell, Department of Biochemistry, Director of Research, University of Cambridge, UK
    • Dr. Ken Duncan, Global Health Discovery, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, USA
    • Professor Siamon Gordon (Chair of ISAC), Sir William Dunn School of Pathology, University of Oxford, UK
    • Dr. Andrew Kambugu, Infectious Diseases Institute, University College of Health Sciences, Uganda
    • Professor Alberto Kornblihtt, Laboratorio de Fisiología y Biología Molecular, University of Buenos Aires, Argentina
    • Professor Lynn Morris, AIDS Research Unit, NICD, South Africa
    • Dr. Charles Rotimi, Director, Centre for Research on Genomics and Global Health, USA
    • Professor David Russell, Cornell University College of Veterinary Medicine, USA

The IDM has the following governing bodies:

  • The Governing Board

    The Governing Board gives strategic direction and high-level control to the IDM, meeting annually and reporting to the Chair of the University Research Committee (URC) which in turn reports to the University Senate. Members, appointed by UCT's Deputy Vice-Chancellor of Research & Internationalisation, are as follows:

    • Deputy Vice-Chancellor of Research & Internationalisation and URC Chair
    • Dean of the Faculty of Health Sciences
    • Dean of the Faculty of Science
    • IDM Director
    • Two IDM Members, elected by the IDM Members for 3 years. Professors Anna-Lise Williamson and Robert J. Wilkinson presently hold these portfolios.
  • Director

    The Director is an academic based within an academic department, but is responsible for the implementation of policy and the promotion of IDM objectives. Day to day administration is reported to the Dean of the Faculty of Health Sciences, who in turn reports to the Chair of the URC. Professor Valerie Mizrahi was appointed to this position in January 2011.

  • Executive Committee

    This Committee meets monthly and assists the Director in the management of the IDM. Five IDM Members are appointed to this Committee by the Director in consultation with the IDM Membership; plus a Faculty representative who is nominated by the Faculty Executive Committee, and appointed by the Director. The present committee members are: