IDM overview                        YouTube

Home > Members > Full members > Carolyn Williamson
Full Members

Professor Carolyn Williamson PhD(UCT) MASSAf, FRSSAf, Fellow of UCT

HIV Diversity and Pathogenesis Research Group

Carolyn Williamson

Head of Division of Medical Virology;  Member of the Institute of Infectious Disease and Molecular Medicine (IDM);  Research Associate of the Centre for AIDS Research in South Africa (CAPRISA)

Carolyn Williamson leads the HIV Diversity and Pathogenesis Group which has a research focus on HIV vaccine development and prevention science.  Her research areas of interest include: elucidating genetic and biological features of the transmitted virus; HIV adaptation and understanding features of HIV-1 subtype C viruses that impact on antibody and cellular immune recognition; HIV-1 superinfection; characterisation of HIV-1 reservoirs. She is also involved in characterising HIV-1 breakthrough infections in large vaccine and microbicide trials.   She has designed and developed candidate DNA and MVA HIV vaccines which have undergone early clinical evaluation for safety and immunogenicity in the USA and South Africa. 

Carolyn participates in numerous multi-centre national and international studies including the Centre for AIDS Programme for Research in South Africa (CAPRISA), Collaboration for AIDS Vaccine Discovery (CAVD), the HIV Vaccine Trials Network (HVTN), and the Medical Research Council (MRC) Strategic Health Innovation Partnerships (SHIP).


Selected publications:


Contact details:

Division of Medical Virology
Institute of Infectious Disease and Molecular Medicine
UCT Faculty of Health Sciences
Observatory 7925
South Africa

Tel: +27 21 406 6683
Fax: +27 21 406 6682


Alternate sites:


Group members:

Prof Carolyn Williamson HODiv
Dr Colin Anthony Lecturer
Ms Zainonesa Hartley Senior Secretary
Ms Nonkululeko Ndabambi Scientific Officer
Ms Cecilia Rademeyer Senior Scientific Officer
Ms Debbie Stewart Project Manager
Ms Catharina Liebenberg (Combrinck) Scientific Officer
Ms Ruwayhida Thebus Scientific Officer
Ms Talita York Scientific Officer
Mr Nthambeleni Steven Gadisi Scientific Officer
Mr David Matten Bioinformatician
Mr Robert Ketteringham Bioinformatician
Dr Melissa-Rose Abrahams Research Officer
Dr Philippe Selhorst Postdoctoral fellow
Mr Daniel Sheward PhD Student
Ms Asanda Gwashu-Nyangiwe PhD Student
Mr Murray Logan PhD Student
Mr Samuel  Kairiuki PhD Student
Mr Dieter Mielke MSc Student
Ms Denzhe Singo MSc Student
Ms Sherazaan Ismail MSc Student
Ms Fatuma Guled MSc Student



South Africa University of Cape Town
National Institutes for Communicable Diseases
Perinatal Research Unit, University of Witswatersrand
Centre for the AIDS programme of Research in South Africa (CAPRISA),
University KwaZulu Natal
South African National Bioinformatics Institute, University of the Western Cape
Aurum Health, Orkney
Medical University of Southern Africa (MEDUNSA)
Desmond Tutu HIV Centre
United States of America University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Duke University Medical Centre, Durham, North Carolina
University of Alabama, Birmingham
University of Washington, Seattle
The Statistical Center for HIV/AIDS Research & Prevention (SCHARP), Seattle