IDM overview                        YouTube

Winners of the IDM Postgraduate Student Publication Competition announced

27 Nov 2018 - 13:30
From left to right: Kehilwe Nakedi, Ramadhani Chambuso, Professor Jonathan Blackburn, Cheleka Mpande, Emeritus Professor Wieland Gevers, Emeritus Professor Siamon Gordon, Lloyd Tanner, Daniel Sheward, Kira Düsterwald, Nada Abdel Aziz, Sue Dennis

The recent IDM Postgraduate Student Publication Competition, an initiative of the Institute Transformation Committee, was adjudicated by Emeritus Professor Siamon Gordon, Chair of the IDM’s International Scientific Advisory Committee and Emeritus Professor Wieland Gevers, Founding Director of the IDM. A total of 13 original research and 4 review articles were received from which the winning entries were selected and announced at a prize-giving event held in the IDM on 26 November. All 17 publications illustrate the high quality of research underway in the IDM and highlight the great depth of talent in our next-generation researchers.

Congratulations to the following postgraduate students on their wonderful achievements:

Original articles winners:

  1. Joint first prize:

Kehilwe Nakedi, for the paper - Identification of novel physiological substrates of Mycobacterium Bovis BCG Protein Kinase G (PknG) by label-free quantitative phosphoproteomics. Molecular & Cellular Proteomics (2018): mcp-RA118.


Kira Düsterwald, for the paper - Biophysical models reveal the relative importance of transporter proteins and impermeant anions in chloride homeostasis. eLife 7 (2018): e39575.

  1. Third prize:

Cheleka Mpande, for the paper - Functional, antigen-specific stem cell memory (TSCM) CD4+ T cells are induced by human Mycobacterium tuberculosis infection. Frontiers in immunology 9 (2018): 324.

  1. Joint fourth prize:

Daniel Sheward, for the paper - HIV Superinfection Drives De Novo Antibody Responses and Not Neutralization Breadth. Cell host & microbe 24.4 (2018): 593-599.


Nada Abdel Aziz, for the paper - The Foxp3+ regulatory T-cell population requires IL-4Rα signaling to control inflammation during helminth infections. PLoS biology 16.10 (2018): e2005850.

  1. Joint fifth prize:

Dimekatso Senthebane, for the paper - The Role of Tumor Microenvironment in Chemoresistance: 3D Extracellular Matrices as Accomplices. International journal of molecular sciences 19.10 (2018): 2861.


Sue Dennis, for the paper - Immunogenicity of plant‐produced African horse sickness virus‐like particles: implications for a novel vaccine. Plant biotechnology journal 16.2 (2018): 442-450.


Review articles winners: 

  1. First prize:

Lloyd Tanner, for the paper - Drug permeation and metabolism in Mycobacterium tuberculosis: Prioritising local exposure as essential criterion in new TB drug development. IUBMB life 70.9 (2018): 926-937.

  1. Second prize:

Ramadhani Chambuso, for the paper - Impact of Host Molecular Genetic Variations and HIV/HPV Co-infection on Cervical Cancer Progression: A Systematic review. Oncomedicine 3 (2018): 82-93.